Skip to content

Greek tostadas

August 30, 2015

I’ve come to the conclusion that after chips and salsa and nectarines, Mediterranean food (especially olives) is my favorite food. I can’t get enough of the salty olives and feta cheese, fresh garlic and chewy pita bread. I know my version is maybe a bit different than what you would actually find in the Mediterranean, but this is as close as I can get.

Greek tostadasI tried a new recipe from How Sweet Eats, one of my favorite food bloggers, for Greek Tostadas. I don’t think Mike would add this meal to his top 5, but he did say it could be added to the make again list. I think part of the problem is his lack of interest in cucumbers and tomatoes, both key ingredients in this meal. Personally, I couldn’t get enough of it because it combined all of my favorite flavors. Another perk of this meal was the ease and speed of preparation.

Greek Tostadas – adapted from How Sweet Eats

1 lb chicken breast
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh dill
2 garlic cloves, minced
the juice of 1 lemon

Whipped feta (cream cheese, feta cheese, garlic powder)
4 (small) corn or flour tortillas
1 tablespoon of olive oil
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 sweet onion, diced
1/2 cup chopped, marinated artichokes
1 cucumber, diced

Flatbread (tortillas, pitas, naan), crumbled feta and lemon to serve

Start by combining the first 8 ingredients in a plastic bag and marinate in the fridge for at least 4 hours (or overnight). The recipe called for chicken cut into chunks, but I decided to marinate the breasts whole and then cut them up after I grilled them – either way would work.

You can also cook chicken however you’d like. I grilled the chicken, but you could cook in a skillet on the stovetop if you prefer. If you grill the chicken let it rest for at least 5 minutes before you cut it up.

In a large bowl, combine tomatoes, onions, artichokes, olives, cucumbers and dill. Add a little olive oil, lemon juice and salt and pepper and stir.

Finally, make the whipped feta by combining 4 oz of cream cheese, 8 oz of feta and a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder in a food processor and pulse until it’s smooth.

To serve, heat the bread on the grill or skillet for a minute or two on each side. Next spread a generous layer of whipped feta, top with chicken and the additional toppings. I created the toppings in two bowls (one without tomatoes and cucs for Mike). Top with a little extra feta and a few squeezes of lemon and serve!

I could probably eat this everyday, but I’ll spare Mike and incorporate some other meals into the rotation as well.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Roberta Doran Maki permalink

    Hi, This sounds amazing. I have one question, do you whip the feta with cream cheese or sour cream? Can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

