Skip to content

My hungry hungry husband is back.

August 25, 2015

Well, after a nearly two year hiatus, I’m bringing back the hungry hungry husband blog. As I mentioned here I started school in September 2013 and little did I know that was going to take up of my free time. And, by free time I mean ALL of my free time.

Now, two years later I have officially completed my master’s program and I have time to get back to things I had enjoyed doing before I started on this crazy journey. Last Monday I completed my final class and turned in my thesis so in honor of my first Monday with no class I decided to spend some time writing (not that I haven’t done enough of that in the last two years), but this writing is really for fun.

Tonight I made a big salad (Seinfeld fans out these, this reference is for you) for dinner.Pork tenderloin cherry salad This may not be the first meal that comes to mind when thinking of man pleasing meals, but Mike is a big fan.  I discovered this salad when searching for quick meals with a limited number of ingredients and now after a few modifications it’s made it’s way into the regular dinner rotation.

Cherry mixture

The salad combines pork tenderloin, dried cherries, shallots and goat cheese for the perfect combination of savory and sweet. And, it’s super quick.
Pork tenderloin

Pork tenderloin and cherry salad (adapted from myrecipes.com)
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
3/4 teaspoon brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh garlic, divided
1 1/4 teaspoons dried thyme, divided
1 pound pork tenderloin, trimmed and cut crosswise into 1/4-inch-thick slices
3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, divided
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 cup olive oil, divided
1/4 cup sliced shallots
1/4 cup dried cherries
1/4 cup red wine
6 cups greens (spinach and arugula)

I don’t usually buy a full pork tenderloin because the store I shop at sells pre-sliced tenderloin. Just makes things a little easier. I then cut the slices in half so they cook quicker.

Start by combining pork with 1 teaspoon garlic, 1 teaspoon thyme, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper and a couple splashes of olives in a plastic bag and shake to coat. To that add the flour and shake again to coat all the pork. Let this sit until it’s ready to be cooked.

While the pork marinates, combine vinegar, mustard, sugar, 1/2 teaspoon garlic and 1/4 teaspoon thyme in a bowl and set aside.

Heat olive oil in a medium pan over medium heat and add shallots; cook until tender and browned (about 3 minutes). To this add the cherries and wine (don’t hesitate to add more cherries if you want – I usually do) and cook until the liquid is reduced, about 2 minutes Next, add the vinegar mixture, remaining oil, salt and pepper and mix together. Turn the heat way down and cover while you cook the pork.

To cook the pork, heat olive oil in a large pan over medium-high heat. Add half of the pork and cook 3-4 minutes on each side. Try to be patient and refrain from flipping before its had a chance to brown on either side. Repeat the same steps with the remaining pork. By cooking it in two batches you don’t overcrowd the pan and the pork actually cooks quicker. When the pork is cooked add to the warm cherry mixture and stir to combine.

To build the salad add spinach/arugula (or any greens you want) mix to a plate and top with goat cheese, cherry mixture and a few pieces of pork. I also like to drizzle a little balsamic vinegar over the top as well, but that’s just a personal preference. And, the original recipe suggests using dried cranberries, but I much prefer dried cherries. Again, totally up to you.

I’m looking forward to sharing my man pleasing meals with you again. And, I would like to say thank you to my family, friends and hubby Mike for their amazing support over these last two years. In the words of Alice Cooper school’s out forever. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

