Skip to content

Lightened up potato salad

July 6, 2013

Image

In true fourth of July form, it’s been a weekend filled with pasta salad, potato salad, burgers, hot dogs, the list goes on. You all know what I’m talking about. And don’t get me wrong, these things are great, but sometimes fall into the not so great for you category. I found this recipe for potato salad and was turned off by the amount of mayo in the ingredient list. Then I thought to myself, “I bet I could switch out most of the mayo for greek yogurt and no one would even notice.”

And that is just what I did. 

(Adapted from Epicurious)

Greek yogurt potato salad

  • 3 lb baby red potatoes
  • 3 tbsp unseasoned rice vinegar (I used red wine vinegar because we didn’t have unseasoned)
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 3 sliced green onions
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • 1 1/2 tsp finely grated lemon peel

Cook whole potatoes in a large pot of boiling water over medium-high heat, about 20. I did this step the night before and kept the cooked potatoes in the fridge overnight. Let the potatoes cook completely before chopping.

Cut potatoes into bite-sized pieces. Combine additional ingredients in a large bowl. Mix in potatoes and season with salt and pepper. Keep in the fridge until ready to serve. One tip, the longer this sits before you serve, the better the flavors will come together. Try to wait at least an hour.

The salad was a big hit, as you can tell there was nothing left. 

I told Mike about the switch and he said “I knew something tasted different.” I’ll take that as an ok to make again.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

