Skip to content

Buttermilk roast chicken

June 12, 2013

This is some good chicken. My sister sent me a text last week with a ringing endorsement for a Smitten Kitchen recipe that she had just tried, telling me “you must try it!” So what did I do? I tried it.  We’ve got a keeper here. The prep time is very minimal. What might get you is the cooking time, about 35 minutes. Which really isn’t too bad. Plus it was so moist I could cut it with my fork!

The recipe says to marinate for at least two hours, but preferably overnight. I would suggest listening to this advice. I think this is one of those where it only gets better the longer you marinate it. 

Buttermilk Chicken (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Image

2 cups buttermilk

5 garlic cloves, chopped (I used my press for this)
1 tbsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp smoked paprika, plus extra for sprinkling on the chicken
Lots of cracked pepper
2 lbs chicken (use a variety of legs, thighs, breasts, whatever you prefer) I did legs and breasts
Olive oil for drizzling on the chicken 

Combine buttermilk, garlic, salt, sugar, paprika, pepper and chicken parts in plastic bag and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, I highly recommend overnight if you can.

When you’re ready to cook, preheat oven to 425, line 9×13 baking dish with tinfoil, again highly recommend this step – makes for super easy clean-up, and lay chicken in pan. Bake for 35-40 minutes until chicken browns on top. 

I also did some mashed sweet potatoes and roasted green beans on the side. For the potatoes, boil chopped potatoes with a few garlic cloves until tender. Mash with 1/3 cup buttermilk, 2 tbsp butter, s&p and a pinch of cayenne if you like the spice. For the beans, mix beans with olive oil, dried garlic and oregano and a squeeze of lemon juice. Add to the oven at about 22 minutes while the chicken roasts. 

Seriously good stuff here. This one is for sure going on the make again list. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Raina permalink

    So glad you like it. I think its a pretty amazing dish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

