Skip to content

Meatballs and mint pesto.

May 10, 2013

This one did not fall into the category of man pleasing, which is unfortunate because I actually really enjoyed it. I wasn’t sure how he would react to the pesto, but I was hoping he would like it because he’s a big fan of traditional basil pesto. He took one bite looked and me and asked “what is this?” with a look of concern on his face. “Mint pesto,” I said with the most enthusiastic tone I could muster, knowing I had already lost him. 

So, I ate meatballs and mint pesto and Mike ate Annie’s mac and cheese. More leftovers for me. I got this recipe from my friend from work, Kristen, and Mike asked me not to make anymore recipes from her. Sorry, Kristen. 🙂

I made a couple changes to the recipe, mainly because of what I did/didn’t have at home. For the meatballs I used ground turkey instead of lamb, mainly because it’s way cheaper per pound and the co-op didn’t have any. I also cooked some couscous and added some olive oil, lemon zest, grilled onion, feta cheese and s&p. I added the sauteed zucchini to that mixture and a little pesto.

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp saltImage
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 lb ground lamb or turkey
  • 4 zucchini
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp mint pesto (recipe below)
  • S&P

Combine ground meat, spices and scrambled egg. Form into golf ball sized meatballs. I added a little lemon zest too. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes on a lined cookie sheet.

Cut zucchini into thin, strips with a mandoline. I found it was easiest to cut in half and then use the mandoline. Saute zucchini with olive oil, garlic and s&p for about 5 minutes. Be careful not to let the zucchini get mushy. 

Mint pesto

  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (I used almonds because I didn’t have walnuts)
  • 1 cup mint leaves

Combine all ingredients in food processor and pulse. Adjust accordingly to taste. 

Only suggestion, make sure the person you’re making dinner for likes mint pesto.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

