Skip to content

Balsamic chicken sandwiches with goat cheese

April 16, 2013

photo

I can’t believe I haven’t posted this recipe yet. Ever since my sister included this in the recipe book she put together for my birthday a couple years ago, it has been making it’s appearance at our dinner table quite often. It’s just about the easiest and quickest meal you could ever make. Two of the things that make it so good. 

You’ll need:

3/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup red wine (the recipe calls for dry red wine, but I usually use whatever I have on hand)

2 teaspoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon low sodium soy sauce

1 lb chicken breast

1/2 red onion, carmelized

goat cheese

arugula (I used spinach because we didn’t have arugula)

Sandwich buns (my personal favorite is sourdough)

Mix the first four ingredients together in a small sauce pot on the stove and cook over medium low heat for about 10 minutes. 

While that cooks down, saute onions over low heat, season chicken breasts with s&p and cook. I usually grill them and then shred the chicken and add it to the sauce once it’s done cooking. 

To assemble, spread a thin layer of goat cheese on bottom of the bun and then layer your greens, caramelized onions and shredded chicken. 

I roasted some broccoli and cauliflower to go with our sandwiches tonight too. Total prep time, 10 mintues. Total cook time, 20 minutes. Now that’s my kind of meal. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Raina permalink

    I sort of forgot about this one, I haven’t made it in ages. You are right, it is so tasty. I’ll have to dust off the recipe soon – thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

