Skip to content

French bread pizza

April 5, 2013

This was another find in the Everyday Rachel Ray magazine that my aunt gave me. It’s been fun finding all these new recipes to try. Mike is a big kale fan, as am I, so as soon as I read the name of this one it was a bit of a no brainer. Three cheese bread with sausage and kale. I mean, how you could skip over that one.

Another great thing about this one is the time it takes to make, next to nothing. I cooked up half a purple onion and a 1/2 cup of mushrooms to add to ours so that increased the prep time a little bit, but totally worth the add. I also added a couple pressed garlic cloves to the cheese mixture because I can’t make a recipe and not add garlic. It may be a problem, some sort of strange garlic addiction.

Cheese bread pizza

  • 10-12 kale leaves, stemmed (I used Russian kale)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 lb cooked sausage (use your favorite variety)Image
  • 1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese
  • 1 1/4 cups grated Parm
  • 2 tablespoons fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1 loaf ciabatta bread, split and sliced crosswise
  • 3/4 pound fontina cheese, sliced

In a large pot, bring a few inches of water to a boil and salt it. Add the kale and boil for 3 minutes. Drain the kale, and rinse with cold water to stop the cooking process, then chop.

Add 1 tbsp to a hot pan and cook, until brown, about 5 minutes. Here’s where I also cooked the onion and mushroom. 

While the meat and veggies cook, combine the ricotta, 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese, the remaining tablespoon of olive oil and the thyme, season with s&p. Slather the cheese mixture evenly over the halved bread, then top with the sausage, kale, fontina and remaining cup of parmesan cheese. Bake until golden and bubbly, about 10 minutes at 400 degrees. I ended cooking ours for about 15 minutes and then broiling for about 3 minutes to finish it off. 

I also served this with a side of pizza sauce to dip. Tasty addition, I would recommend it. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Raina permalink

    Yum! This sounds good!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

