Skip to content

Ravioli and meatballs

April 2, 2013

Mike made a request for ravioli last week and I finally got around to making them. I picked up some three cheese ravioli at Trader Joe’s last week, not super impressed with them. I usually buy the Rising Moon brand, but thought I would try this more inexpensive option. Will probably spend the extra money next time. Anyone have a favorite ravioli brand?

Muir glen tomato sauce has been on sale on the co-op so I stocked up. For the sauce, I sauteed some garlic and onions for about 5 minutes and then added a pinch of Italian seasoning and a cup of red wine and cooked that down. Then I opened up my favorite jar of sauce, poured it in and let that simmer while the meatballs cooked.

I’ve been obsessed with ground turkey lately. Tacos, ground turkey, meatballs, ground turkey, anything really. So, no surprise here I used ground turkey for my meatballs. I’ve made a lot of different meatball recipes, so this was a mix of my favorite ingredients.

Meatballs:

1 lb ground turkey

1/3 cup minced red onion

Image

3 garlic cloves, pressed

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning

pinch of red pepper flakes

1 cup of whole wheat bread crumbs

couple splashes of Worchestire sauce

1/3 cup of chicken stock

1/3 cup frozen spinach, thawed

couple pinches of s&p

(I usually put in an egg for a binder, but didn’t have any so I skipped it. They turned out just fine without it)

Mix together all the ingredients. (Yes, one simple step). Line a cookie sheet with tinfoil/parchment paper and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. The lining step isn’t necessary, but it makes for super easy clean up.

If you were feeling ambitious you could double this recipe and freeze the other batch for a future meal. In an effort to cook once, eat twice I will be doing this step next time. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

