Skip to content

Enchiladas Suizas

March 27, 2013

It was time for a new enchilada recipe. I’ve been making the same red sauce enchiladas for awhile and it was time to mix it up a bit. Of course Mike questioned why was I changing a good thing. Well my dear husband, sometimes change is good. 

My aunt Julia inspired tonight’s recipe. After she made some very tasty pot pies from the Everyday with Rachel Ray magazine she had picked up on vacation I asked if I could thumb through to find some new recipes. I happened to stumble upon this one. It had all the right ingredients to catch my eye, onion, garlic, cilantro, cheese…I could keep going. 

I only made a few tweaks to this one, it really didn’t much it was good. I noted the changes below. But I think I agree with Mike that these come second to the red sauce enchiladas. At least I tried.

ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 3 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped
  • Image1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 pound tomatillos – husks removed; rinsed and chopped
  • 1/2 lime juiced
  • 1 cup of frozen corn
  • Salt and pepper
  • 3/4 cup sour cream, plus more for serving
  • 1 cup (packed) cilantro leaves
  • 1 lb grilled chicken breasts
  • tortillas
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded monterey jack

Directions

Heat 1 tbsp. olive oil in a medium  pan and  add the onion, garlic and jalapeno. Cook until the vegetables are soft, about 5 minutes. Add the cumin and cook for 1 minute. Add the tomatillos, season with s&p. Cook for 2 minutes, then stir in 1/2 cup water and simmer until the tomatillos are soft, about 5 minutes.

Let the mixture cool (I stuck it in a bowl in the freezer). Combine sour cream, cilantro and veggie mixture in food processor and mix until smooth (I don’t think I mixed long enough, I would go at least a minute). Spread 1/2 cup of the mixture into the bottom of a 9-by-13-inch dish. In a bowl, mix the chicken with 1 cup of the sour cream mixture. 

Divide the chicken mixture among the tortillas, top with a little cheese and roll them up and line them in the dish. Pour the remaining 1 cup of salsa over the enchiladas and top with the remainder of the cheese. Bake for about 25 minutes at 375 degrees. Serve with your favorite topping, mine happened to be salsa, chipotle tobasco and sliced avocados. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

