Skip to content

Chicken quesadillas

March 21, 2013

I made another one of my own creations tonight. A couple years ago my sister gave me a cute three ring binder filled with recipes that she loves, an excellent b-day present for an aspiring cook. Over the years I’ve quadrupled it’s size, filling it with recipes that I’ve tried. One of the original recipes my sister gave me was for monterey jack quesadillas. I took the base from that and made my own version. 

After being with my sister last weekend and watching her be super on top of planning meals and doing as much prep work prior to the week as she could, I’ve decided I would like to be more like her. So, last night when I was grilling chicken for pesto chicken sandwiches I also grilled the chicken for the quesadillas. Cook once, eat twice, right?  

Chicken quesadillas

1 lb grilled chicken (I seasoned mine with some taco spices before grilling)

1 cup frozen corn

1/2 cup chopped red onion

1/2 cup chopped red pepper

Image

1 cup grated cheese (I used 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 pepper jack) – use whatever variety you like

1 teaspoon of cumin

1/2 teaspoon on taco seasoning (I bought some at the World Spice Market in Seattle so I used 

that)

1/2 cup chopped cilantro

1/2 cup of sour cream

2 tbsp of mayo

Combine all the ingredients listed above in a bowl and mix to combine. Then spread about a cup to cup and a 1/2 onto a tortilla and cook covered in a frying pan. 

I topped mine with some fresh squeezed lime juice and lots of salsa. Mike likes to spread sour cream on his. You could really do whatever you would like. Because I cooked the chicken last night, this took me about 20 minutes. Quick and tasty, about the best combination there is. 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Raina permalink

    Aw, glad I could inspire! My organization partly comes from necessity, but regardless, I love the cook once eat twice philosophy. I add black beans and chipotle peppers to this recipe as well. How was the taco seasoning?

    PS – love the new format! 🙂

  2. All because of your great recommendations!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

