Skip to content

Pesto chicken and roasted broccoli couscous

March 20, 2013

Mike was longing for a home cooked meal after eating mac and cheese and frozen pizza while I was in Seattle for a long weekend. And I was longing for an easy, quick meal after getting in late last night due to a delayed flight. So I settled on this, pesto chicken sandwiches and a side of cous cous. 

Here’s what I used for the sandwiches:

1 lb chicken breasts

Image

1/2 cup of pesto (still using the batch we made last summer)

8 slices of mozzarella cheese

couple slices of red onion

Sourdough baguette

couple slices of tomato

handful of spinach

Sprinkle chicken breasts with s&p and grill until cooked. Mix with pesto and build sandwiches. Start by layering onion, tomato and spinach on the bottom layer of bread and top with chicken and cheese. When the cheese starts to melt it will act like a little blanket on top of all the yummy ingredients. Serve hot. 

I created my own recipe for the couscous side. I love taking couscous, orzo, rice and adding whatever sounds good. I’m not super good at measuring, but I think this is about what I did tonight.

2 cups cooked couscous (this takes like 5 minutes, it cooks super quick)

1 lb roasted broccoli ( tossed it with olive oil, garlic and italian herbs and roasted at 400 for about 20 minutes)

1 cup spinach

4 garlic cloves

2 tbsp balsamic glaze

1/4 cup feta cheese

2 tbsp grated Parmesan

Image

So, start by cooking the couscous and roasting the broccoli (follow the recipes above). Then I sauteed the garlic and spinach in a tsp of olive oil and balsamic glaze, this is the recipe I followed for the glaze. Then I combined the couscous, broccoli and wilted spinach in a large bowl and added the cheeses and a little s&p and drizzled a little glaze over the top. Mike totally ate this up, he said it was sweet which I think it due to the glaze. 

And of course, much to my enjoyment there are going to be some super leftovers tomorrow. The flavors of the couscous will just get better. 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

