Skip to content

Corned beef, cabbage and crab cakes.

March 17, 2013

I have consumed a lot of great food on this vacation. Let me start by telling you about the meal my sister and I made yesterday. We decided to try our hand at traditional corned beef and cabbage in honor of the holiday. Neither of us had made corned beef, but it went really well. We used a Tyler Florence recipe. After reading a couple reviews we decided not to include the cabbage in the dutch oven but baked it in a pan with some of the juices for about an hour. I would recommend this because the cabbage didn’t turn into a slimy mess and still had some crunch to it. We even made corned beef hash for breakfast this morning.

To keep with the St. Patrick’s day theme, we also made an Irish soda bread, which was super tasty. Another new cooking experience for us both. And not only was this bread good, it was so easy. There isn’t any yeast or rising involved so I think that helps. The orange zest really was the icing on the cake, so to speak.

My aunt and uncle, Sheila and Aaron also live in Seattle and make the BEST crab cakes I have ever had. Probably because they are packed full of crab and have very little filler. And they are also just really good. When I booked my trip here, I texted my aunt to put in a request for their famous cakes. So, we had those last night for an appetizer, they didn’t quite fit with the theme, but that really didn’t matter. I can’t divulge the recipe, mainly because they don’t really follow one.

Shrimp is on the menu tonight, got to get all the fresh seafood in while I can!

20130317-133421.jpg

20130317-133638.jpg

20130317-133927.jpg

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Soda bread and crab cakes are two of my favorite foods! Hope you’re having a great trip!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

