Skip to content

One of Mike’s favorites.

March 13, 2013

Well I learned something about my husband tonight. I probably already knew this, but just hadn’t come to terms with it. He has simple tastes when it comes to food. And there is nothing wrong with that. But it does explain why his favorite foods are tacos, lasagna and pizza. I like to mix things up a bit, he would probably prefer that I just made the same kind of tacos, lasagna and pizza every time but what’s the fun in that?Image

So when I asked Mike for dinner requests for the week, I got the usual response tacos, lasagna, whatever you want. I decided on lasagna, but made some, what I would call minor, changes. I subbed out ground beef for ground turkey, I really digging the ground turkey lately. I cooked up onions, carrots and zucchini (actually Mike did this step while I was at the gym) and added that mixture to the sauce and ground turkey. And added the rest of the roasted garlic from Saturday to the cottage cheese mixture. Oh and added some goat cheese to that same mixture. This might be my favorite batch of lasagna I’ve ever made. And I get to eat it for lunch tomorrow too, bonus. 

For those of you using ricotta in your lasagna, may I suggest trying cottage cheese? This is what my mother-in-law uses and we really prefer it over ricotta cheese. Give it a try next time. 

Only two more sleeps until I head to Seattle for a long weekend. I’m SO excited to go, here are some of the things I’m looking forward to:

1. Seeing my nephew, Caleb.

2. Seeing my nephew, Caleb. 

3. See a pattern here? 

4. Seeing my sister and brother-in-law. 

5. Going to the World Spice store near the Pike Place Market. 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Raina permalink

    I’m impressed that I made #4! Can’t wait to see you!! P.S. your lasagna sounds delicious!

  2. The World Spice Store!? Sounds like an amazing place.

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

