Skip to content

I’m over this snow thing.

March 6, 2013

ImageThis might be the best meatball I’ve ever eaten. I came across this recipe on Pinterest a couple weeks ago and I’m just sorry I waited so long to make them. They were juicy, savory, better-for-you and just really quite tasty. I decided to go with the meatball sub idea from her blog, knowing that Mike is a fan of cheesy things (who isn’t). 

I bought some really tasty whole grain bread at my local co-op, heated up some marinara sauce and built the sandwiches with a little mozzarella cheese under the broiler. Used the same trick I do for pizzas. I also made a big salad which made me more ready to start planting our garden. Oh, but wait we got like a foot of snow so I guess I’ll be waiting a bit longer for that. 

I married a man with a very green thumb. Huge plus. My thumbs not so green. It really works out in my favor. We planted our first garden last summer and had a lot of success. This summer we are expanding a bit and trying a few new things, zucchini, jalapeno peppers, swiss chard, to name a few. Get ready folks, there will be garden veggies coming your way. Maybe we will start our own CSA. 🙂 We had a crazy tomato crop last year, seriously it was like a little tomato forest 

Image

out there. So, we made a lot of marinara sauce and froze it. I’m hoping we get bumper crops of other veggies so we can fill the freezer with more than just sauce. Mike has already started the seeds and we’ve got a couple seedlings already. It better warm up soon, otherwise I’ll be out there with my blow dryer thawing out the ground. 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Raina permalink

    Those meatballs sound tasty! Hopefully we will have some decent weather for your trip next week. Your starts are looking good! Green thumb husbands are the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

