Skip to content

Tasty weekend.

March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend with my parents and lots of really great food. Friday we had big salads (Seinfeld reference for those of you that are fans) with rotisserie chicken from the co-op. I love rotisserie chickens, the possibilities are endless. Saturday, we went out to eat at Scusi in St. Paul and had more olives, much to my delight. Great food. It just made me want to go to Italy even more. Some day. Sunday, we had breakfast with my in-laws and parents at, yes you guessed it, Capitol View Cafe. Mike and I are trying to become regulars.

So, tonight I decided to carry on the tradition of good food and made one of my very favorite comfort food dishes, chicken and biscuit pot pie. This isn’t your traditional pot pie, which is probably one of my favorite parts about it. There is no crust making required. 

I’ve made this one a couple times and have modified it a bit to add a little more flavor. Here’s what I do:

1. Add a little poultry seasoning to the chicken when it’s cooking in addition to the s&p.

2. Add chopped kale in addition to the green beans. 

Image

3. Add a teaspoon of mustard powder and a teaspoon of turmeric after the stock and flour are added. 

4. Add a cup of frozen corn right at the end. This last one is simply because we didn’t have any frozen peas and I liked the sweetness the corn adds. 

Much to my surprise, Mike told me that his favorite part was the biscuit. Normally, he isn’t a big biscuit fan and this one is whole wheat. I’ve said this before, but I will say it again, we’ve come a long way. And I couldn’t be happier. 

To add to this weekend of food, I also made some banana bread this afternoon with some bananas that I froze a couple weeks ago. I may or may not have sampled it, just to make sure it was ok for Mike to eat. I give it a 10. I had a little extra batter so I tossed it a few chocolate chips and made some banana chocolate chip muffins too. They will make for some tasty breakfast treats. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

