Skip to content

Kalamata olives.

February 26, 2013

Let me tell you a little about my obsession with kalamata olives. I’m not sure exactly where it started, but I think I can trace it all the way back to a trip I made to Greece with my mom in high school. I remember having the most amazing olives there and I still just can’t seem to get enough. Image

They are salty, tangy, a little sweet and all around wonderful. I like to put them in A LOT of things. I add them to my tomato sauce, they are especially good in this chicken parmesan recipe. I love them on my pizza, in my salads and in last nights meal, calzones.

Calzones are like lasagna, you can put a lot of different ingredients inside and it usually tastes pretty awesome. I made up my ingredients for last nights calzones with what I could find in the fridge. I had bought some whole wheats crusts from Trader Joe’s a couple weeks ago and froze them so I took those out and cooked up a little sausage that we had in the freezer. To that I added puple onions, red peppers, mushrooms, sauteed spinach, mozzerella and parmesan cheese AND lots of chopped olives. And by a lot I mean like a half a jar and no I’m not overexaggerating.

Mike is a pizza/calzone fan and these went over well. But you really can’t go wrong with a bunch of tasty toppings stuffed with cheese, wrapped in dough and dipped in marinara, can you?

And they made for a lot of leftovers, which means I got to enjoy olives for two meals in a row. Even better.

Anyone have recipes with olives that you love?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Mmm I love kalamata olives too. The olive bar at Whole Foods is dangerous..

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

