Skip to content

The great Sunday cook-off.

February 11, 2013

Today was a typical Sunday, chores and cooking, my favorite being the latter of the two. We also had breakfast at our favorite spot again, Capitol View Cafe. Thanks for a fun breakfast Kathryn and Nish. ūüôā

My sister told me about this beer can chicken recipe a couple weeks ago and I knew I had to try

Imageit. I used a poultry rub that I had bought at the World Spice Market when I was in Seattle last. It is 

somewhat of an Italian spice mix, so I added some garlic and paprika and the s&p the recipe called for. Then I stuck it on a can of beer and put it on the grill for an hour and 25 minutes. And it was SO good. Raina, thanks again for another great recipe!

 

For the sides I went with some mashed yukon potatoes for Mike, mashed sweet potatoes for me and some roasted green beans. For the potatoes, I boiled them in water for about 20 minutes with a couple gloves of garlic. Once they were done I added some 

milk, butter and¬†Greek¬†yogurt and mashed away. In¬†separate¬†bowls of course. I didn’t want to get¬†

Image

any cross contamination between the two. I mixed the green beans with some olive oil, garlic and 

oregano and roasted at 375 for about 25 minutes.¬†Then tossed with parmesan¬†after they came out of the oven. Tonight’s meal was comfort with a capitol C. And very tasty. I would highly recommend the chicken, it will be making a regular appearance at our house.¬†

I’ve been trying really hard to eat a good breakfast that gives me some energy and keeps me full until I eat lunch. When I came across¬†this¬†recipe¬†on Pinterest I thought that this would be a good one to try.

I’ve never really been an oatmeal fan, I think it’s a consistency thing. But I figured that this one would be less mushy, I’m not sure why I thought that, but I did. It also screams convenience. All you have to do is cut a square off, heat it up and take it to go. I need to take advantage of all the time saving opportunities in the morning.¬†

 

Image

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Raina permalink

    Glad you liked it! I ended up freezing the carcas in a Ziploc and thawed it yesterday and made chicken stock. Used the stock tonight for chicken, veggie, rice soup. Tasty!

    The oatmeal sounds great! A welcome hange from granola, perhaps? I make a week’s worth of oatmeal for Caleb each weekend and think he’d love this. I’ll have to give it a try. You know how he likes blueberries!

    XOXO

    • The oatmeal was good, but got I got kinda sick of it eating it for four days straight. I doubled the recipe because Mike ate it too, next time I don’t think I would do that. There is still a little in the fridge that may not get eaten. But it was tasty!
      xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

