Skip to content

One half or the other.

January 31, 2013

So last night was a first for our house. I made the same meal, but altered it for Mike’s tastes.

ImageUsually he’s pretty good about trying new things and letting me know how he feels about them. But going into last nights meal I knew I was going to have to make some adjustments. I of course ate exactly what the recipe called for. 🙂

I’ve made a classic Sherpad’s Pie before with veggies, beef and mashed potatoes and we both really liked it. But I was looking for a way to spice it up and that’s when I came across this.

I thought that the spicy beef mixture and sweet potatoes would make for an excellent combination. But I knew that Mike wasn’t a huge sweet potato fan, which is weird because he loves sweet stuff. I decided to text him and ask him if he thought he would try the sweet potato version. His response, “why ruin a good thing.” Shocking. So I decided to make one half for Mike and one half for me. Both versions consisted of the same first layer, the beef mixture. One note, I just added a can on diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes because that’s what I had. Then I topped my side with some black beans, again Mike isn’t a huge fan. I also put a bunch of cilantro on my side because I LOVE cilantro. Then topped both sides with some cheddar cheese.

Image

Then one half got mashed yukon potatoes and the other mashed sweet potatoes. I mashed both with milk and sour cream.

It was awesome, the combination of the spicy meat mixture and sweet, sweet potatoes was super yummy. I would highly recommend this one. We also put a little chipotle tobasco on our respective sides which added a nice little kick.

Mike, don’t expect this to happen very often. You’re lucky I like you. 🙂

Next up, parmesan chicken.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

