Skip to content

What a weekend.

January 29, 2013

Another weekend that wasn’t quite long enough. But isn’t that how they all go. It was a really fun weekend though, so that makes it better.

Friday we had steaks to celebrate the completion of our bathroom. We got NY strips with our cow and they were wonderful. I made the onions from this recipe for the top and added in some mushrooms too. I also roasted some brussel sprouts with a little balsamic vinegar and s&p, but those were only for me, Mike is anti-sprout. And these potatoes, to really get the classic steak and potatoes meal. Mike was in heaven, I was happy to reach man pleasing meal nirvana.

We headed out the beer dabbler on Saturday with Talla, Eric and some of Talla’s friends for a super fun afternoon/evening of beer consumption. There were over 100 beer vendors there and we probably only sampled a quarter of them. It was a little overwhelming, but super fun.

Sunday consisted of chores around the house and breakfast at our favorite breakfast place, Capitol View Cafe. I highly recommend the Tex Mex with chorizo.

On the menu tonight was pizza calzones. I had some frozen dough in the freezer from Trader

Image

Joe’s to use so calzones it was. I cooked up some green peppers, onions and mushrooms for just a couple minutes. And also cooked a 1/4 pound of sausage. Then I started layering. First, a swipe of pizza sauce, handful of cooked veggies, a little sausage and/or pepperoni and a handful

 of mozzarella. Then I sprinkled on a little parm and Italian seasoning and baked at 375 for about 20 minutes. I knew these would be man pleasing, you really can’t go run with pizza toppings all rolled up and baked, right?

AND last but not least, I booked a trip on Sunday to Seattle to visit my sister and her familiy in March, CAN’T WAIT!

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Yay for booking your trip! and TJ’s pizza dough is the best!!

  2. Raina permalink

    This reminds me to add calzones to an upcoming menu – yours sound good. Plus they freeze well – gotta love the 2-for-1 meals! So excited to see you in March! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

