Skip to content

I couldn’t come up with a good title.

January 25, 2013

Last night I made what some would refer to as a “kids” meal, chicken fingers, mac and cheese and broccoli with cheese. But ours was the adult version. 

I had been wanting to try nut crusted chicken tenders for awhile and finally decided to go for it. 

Image

This recipe comes from yumPower. yumPower is an initiative through HealthPartners teaching people about better-for-you-foods and providing tips and tricks to eat better (sorry for the shameless plug, I work there). Tenders were great, no complaints from the husband.  

Also on the menu, mac and cheese. I’ve tried a couple different recipes and I would say that this one falls somewhere in the middle. It didn’t quite have the sharp, tangy flavor that I’ve gotten with others. And to make it adult it had onions, garlic and kale. I like to think that the kale balances out the butter and milk. One can only hope right. 

I did my standard roasted broccoli and cauliflower too. And instead of Velveeta or whatever that orange stuff is that gets poured over broccoli I put some Parmesan cheese on it. 

Image

Throwback night was a success. 

Thanks to my co-worker, Katelyn, I tried baked fajitas tonight. Thank you, Katelyn they were awesome! I didn’t have much chicken so I also cooked some beef tenderloin we got with our cow. Another awesome piece of meat. It was so tender, I’m so happy we decided to invest in that meat. 

Happy Friday all!

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Katelyn permalink

    Glad you liked them!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

