Skip to content

The Italianesk.

January 10, 2013

Tonight’s meal totally hit the spot. I’ve been craving this sandwich I had at the Smokehaus in the DeWitt Seitz building in Duluth called the Italianesk. It was this wonderful combination of Italian meats, olive salad, cheese, onions and oil and vinegar. I must go to Italy some day. This place has awesome food, Mike and I always stop here on our way up to Grand Marais to visit my parents.

ImageSo I recreated it and came pretty close. Thanks to one of my new favorite foods blogs, Simply Scratch, I found this recipe. I made a few modifications. I added spinach, chopped olives, roasted red peppers instead of raw and only mozzarella cheese because that’s all we had. Oh, and I didn’t do a double decker layer of meat and cheese I felt like one would be enough.

Mike seemed pretty into it. He did make a second sandwich. The bread was a little on the hard side, one more day and we would have been eating breadless sandwiches.

I also made this really awesome side with orzo (my favorite pasta) and grilled veggies that my co-worker Katelyn told me about.

  • First, I brushed 2 zucchinis, a red pepper and purple onion with olive oil and s&p and then grilled them. Second, I cooked about a cup of orzo. Third, I made the dressing which is: 1/3 cup olive oil, 1/3 cup lemon juice and s&p. Then you mix it all together and add feta cheese. It’s really yummy.

I wanted to tell you about last night’s meal too. I made corn chowder, which I really enjoyed. It wasn’t thick enough for Mike’s soup standards though. He also expressed to me that he didn’t think that soup counted as a meal. It’s more of an appetizer, unless it’s chili or really thick chicken and wild rice. Noted Mike. 🙂 I also substituted the bacon for chorizo sausage because I love chorizo sausage and made the mistake of telling Mike that I omitted the bacon. Next time I leave the bacon out of a recipe I won’t be telling him.

We are officially starting our bathroom remodel project tomorrow night, we’ve slowly been starting it this whole week. So it will be pizza and take out for a few days.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

