Skip to content

Something brand new.

January 4, 2013

ImageI went for it tonight. I tried something out of our comfort zone. North African meatballs. Yep, you heard me right, Mike ate African balls for dinner tonight.

Sorry, I had to. 🙂

Knowing Mike like I do, when he asked me what was for dinner I said I was just making some meatballs with red sauce and cous cous. I wasn’t about to tell him that there was cinnamon in the meatballs. 

I really liked these, I wasn’t sure about the flavor combinations at first. There is cumin and cinnamon in the meat and olives in the red sauce (PS. I love olives). But they all came together really well. Mike seemed to like it, but these probably won’t make a very regular appearance at the dinner table. But it’s always fun to try something new. 

When I told Mike the actual name of the recipe and the ingredients he made some comment about liking American food. No surprise there. But I know he secretly liked it. We’ve come a long way folks. 

We are having a chili cook-off with some friends on Saturday. I’ve started to look through chili recipes to find the perfect one. I’m feeling a little pressure to create the perfect chili, so we’ll see. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Raina permalink

    There’s a “that’s what she said” joke in there somewhere.

    Here are a few chili recipes that make regular appearances at our house:

    http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/white-chicken-chili-10000000701089/

    http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/janes-vegetarian-chili-10000001011281/ (adding a 1/2 pound of chicken sausage or pork sausage is a tasty addition)

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/veg-head-three-bean-chili-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

