Skip to content

Two for one.

December 13, 2012

I’ve got two meals to share with you tonight. Last nights and tonight’s. 

After work last night I went to get my bangs trimmed at my favorite salon, SaBel, and then I was going to go to the grocery store. I had decided to make pork chops and a couple quick sides because I knew it was going to be a little later by the time I got home. Well, as you know I live in MinneSNOWta and after last weekends big storm traffic has NOT been the same. It took me forever to get home. 

I picked a new smitten kitchen recipe, breaded pork chops, but didn’t realize that you had to cook the breadcumbs for 15 minutes prior to breading and cooking the pork chop for 20 minutes. Needless to say we ate a little late. But the porkchops were worth it. I also made roasted broccoli, tossed it with olive oil, garlic and italian herbs and roasted at 425 for about 20 minutes. For the cous cous I cooked shallots and garlic together for a few minutes, added in the cous cous and some kale and steamed for about 8 minutes in chicken stock. 

First words out of my husband’s mouth after we sat down to eat, “this broccoli is really good.” Folks let me tell you, we’ve come a long way. 🙂

Image

 

And for tonight I made chicken pesto sandwiches with a big salad. This summer my aunt Julia and I canned a bunch of pesto with our bumper crops of basil. And now I have a fresh supply of pesto all winter long, it’s awesome. For the sandwiches I grilled chicken breasts, shred the chicken and mixed in a couple spoon fulls of pesto. Then I built the sandwiches with a little red onion, spinach, mozzarella cheese and chicken and cooked for about 10 minutes in the frying pan. These have become a staple with all the pesto we have and are super yummy. 

Image

 

Side note, I LOVE pesto and would love any pesto recipes that you may have!

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Yum! And were they served on a french baguette?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I couldn’t come up with a good title. « My hungry hungry husband

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

