Skip to content

Winter wonderland.

December 10, 2012

In between shoveling and plowing snow I decided to make strombolis for dinner tonight. I’ve made strombolis/calzones a few times (I don’t think I know the difference) and these are definitely man pleasing. But also very woman pleasing. The filling was super good, I added a few cloves of garlic too because we love garlic. 

I’m going to fill you in on a little secret of mine. Pizza dough from Trader Joe’s. I used it for this recipe, but I’ve been using it for pizza too. It’s great, they have regular, garlic and herb and whole wheat. I’ve made dough before, but this is SO much easier. 

Image

 

One thing about these is they were a little doughy around the edges. I didn’t do the best job of getting the filling out all way to the edges, I’ll blame it on the snow shoveling coma that I was in. Mike did teach me how to use the snowblower tonight so that was pretty exciting. 

Tonight I did some recipe searching for the week and I’m looking forward to a new chili recipe. It looks like the perfect Sunday meal. I’ll keep you posted. 

Good luck getting to work tomorrow, it should be interesting. 

Image

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. A. Hess permalink

    Nicely done, Carly. Stromboli is typically rolled up like a sleeping bag whereas calzones are folded in half and sealed. I’ll have to try Trader Joe’s pizza dough if I ever make to one of those stores. I still make all my crust and it always bugs me how hard it is to be consistent with it, likely due to my sloppy style of measuring. I’m hungry now 🙂 Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

