Skip to content

I love cooking on Sundays.

December 3, 2012

Cooking on Sunday is one of my favorite things to do. I always look for Sunday meals when I’m planning out my recipes for week that take a little bit more time, knowing that I will have that time. Crockpot meals on Sunday are really the best. Today I decided to go with a little Italian flare or as close to it as I can get. 

Side note. I love garlic and onions, I put garlic and onions in just about every meal I make. I was browsing the Smitten Kitchen blog last week and came across a salad recipe that had pickled onions. I had already decided to make a Caesar salad with our meal and thought that the onions would go good with the salad. So I made pickled onions and they were awesome. I might make pickled onions with every meal. Seriously I really enjoyed them, I was eating them right out of the bowl. Mike said he liked them, but I don’t think he was enjoying them as much as I was. Here they are soaking in the vinegar bath. 

Image

Pickled onions

Mike’s favorite part of salads are the croutons, no surprise there. So I decided to try homemade croutons with our Caesar salads tonight too. Another favorite part of cooking on Sundays is being able to do things throughout the day in anticipation for the evenings meal. I made the croutons at about noon today.

They turned out quite good. Except I nearly cut my finger off cutting the super stale bread. Here is the recipe I used for the croutons. 

I made meatball subs from the Smitten Kitchen with our salads tonight. Are you seeing a reoccurring theme here? I really love that blog. These were really good too. But really anything with gooey cheese and marinara sauce can’t be bad. 

Overall I would say that this was a husband and wife pleasing meal. I’m already looking forward to eating the leftovers tomorrow at lunch. 

Image

Caesar with homemade croutons.

Image

Meatballs cooking.

Image

Finished product.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

