Skip to content

Mmmm kale.

November 27, 2012

Kale gets a bad rap. I think that may be because it doesn’t get cooked like it should. I like it best in soup and pasta when it gets a chance to cook down and take on the flavors of the meal.

When I first made this pasta it was Mike’s first encounter with the green, leafy veggie. I don’t follow a recipe with this one (that doesn’t happen very often). I like to think of it as everything but the kitchen sink pasta. I start by browning turkey or pork sausage and then add onions, mushrooms and garlic. Then I create a sauce with chicken stock, white wine, goat cheese and a little sour cream. Next I mix together the meat, veggies, kale and cooked pasta and let that cook down for awhile until the sauce coats the pasta. It’s a pretty good weeknight meal and always makes leftovers, it seems to taste even better the next day.

Now to Mike’s reaction. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but he actually liked it. And now it makes a regular appearance in our kitchen.  

We even grew kale in our garden this year. It was so nice to have right out the back door. I sometimes wish we could have a garden year round.  

I’m getting a little off topic with this post, sorry about that. I didn’t take photos of the pasta tonight, so use your imagination. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Elaina permalink

    I’m impressed. Sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

