Skip to content

Pre Thanksgiving meal

November 23, 2012

I wanted to make a quick meal the night before Thanksgiving because I had a lot of prep to get done, so I turned to this tired and true recipe. Sophisto Joes from Epicurious, the name really makes the meal.

Mike had a lot of manwich growing up, so this is my attempt to recreate something I know he will like. But these are much better. And they have carrots and celery, which allows me to sneak in some extra veggies. AND they have wine in them, even better. They usually take me about 20 minutes from start to finish and I usually make a quick veggie side to go with. Last night I made some green beans.

Feeding a steak and potatoes guy can be tough at times. The Sophisto Joes are more than just ketchup and meat (and who knows what else in that can of mysterywich), they have cumin, chili powder, brown sugar, all things to create a great meal. When I first made this meal I though it may be a little outside of Mike’s comfort zone, but they went over well. Now they find their way onto the menu quite often.

All the recipes I tried for Thanksgiving turned out great, I would high recommend this recipe for mac and cheese. And here is the recipe for the roasted garlic cauliflower and broccoli. The veggie recipe is from The Parsley Thief, another one of my favorite blogs.

We had a great time at Danny’s today, hope everyone had a great holiday with family and friends!

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Must try that mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

