Skip to content

My very first blog post.

November 21, 2012

With some much needed convincing from my great co-workers Hyedi and Katelyn, I’ve decided to start my very own food blog. I was a little hesitant because I don’t have the most amazing kitchen to cook in or camera to capture my creations, but here it goes.

I’m married to Mike, a steak and potatoes kind of man. Dinner at his house consisted of quick, easy and convenient. And there’s nothing wrong with that. If I had to feed my husband plus four boys I probably wouldn’t be writing this blog.

When we started dating in college I wasn’t doing much cooking, but that changed when we moved in together. I started cooking not because I felt like my place belonged in the kitchen but because I really started to love it. I love being in the kitchen, I love creating foods that taste good and are good for you.

Mike started with a pretty small palette so I had my work cut out for me. But believe he’s come around. Although the mac and cheese quinoa I made awhile ago didn’t go over too well.

I wouldn’t say I’m an expert chef , but I love to try new recipes, eat good food and provide for my (small) family.

I’m trying three new recipes for Thanksgiving this year. We are headed to brother-in-laws house so I’m responsible for sides. I’m making pumpkin cupcakes with maple cream cheese frosting, roasted garlic cauliflower broccoli and mac and cheese.

I made the cupcakes tonight. Don’t worry, I did some quality control and tasted the batter. Not too shabby. Here is a photo and the recipe (from one of my favorite food blogs, Smitten Kitchen). I will be frosting in the morning.

Happy Thanksgiving all!

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Those cupcakes look delicious and I’m jealous of your KitchenAid! Also, I made a really yummy recipe tonight you might want to try 🙂 One tweak: I added mushrooms! http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/fettuccine-with-escarole-and-brie

  2. Raina permalink

    Lovely! Great title, post, and photos! May I suggest correcting the subtitle to read,”one woman’s quest…” 🙂 Can’t wait to read more.

  3. mike permalink

    Correction! The frosting was completed by the happy husband.

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

