Skip to content

New recipes.

March 11, 2013

There was a lot of cooking going on in this house this weekend. Starting with the wonderful meal Mike made for us on Friday night. I was quite impressed. He made an arugula salad with goat cheese and dried cherries to start and then roasted green beans, potato gratin and salmon grilled on cedar planks. Aside from the super tasty food, I think my favorite part was coming home and not having to worry about cooking dinner. 

Saturday I made pork chops and roasted garlic pasta and veggies. Pork chops were just ok, the breading got a little soggy during the baking step. I’m not sure what I could have done differently. Possibly just skip that step all together Imageand pan fry to chops. But that may make the chops too tough. It’s a fine line. The pasta on the other hand turned out good. I roasted the garlic in the afternoon so the house smelled like garlic all day (a plus in my mind). 

I made a couple modifications to this one. I didn’t have any cream at home, we aren’t coffee drinkers, so I just used milk which didn’t seem to matter. To try and make it a little healthier a used a combo of whole wheat and white noodles. I used the veggies I had at home which was, purple onion, red pepper, broccoli and kale. I roasted the pepper and then cooked the veggies together with olive oil and s&p for a couple minutes before adding to the sauce and noodle combo. 

I saved some of the garlic for lasagna that I’m making later this week. Looking forward to that.  

Tonight, I tried a new one from Epicurious, Arroz con Pollo. I swapped out the white rice for brown rice which took another 30 minutes to cook, but I was anticipating that so I started early. I’m still a little unsure about this one. It tasted good and it was fairly easy to make, but 

Image

it was missing something. I added some red pepper flakes to mine which helped. I was thinking some cheese, queso fresco maybe, it has somewhat of a Mexican flavor. Mike suggested chips and eating it more like a dip. We will have to do something experimenting if we try it again. 

I would highly recommend that you get a dutch oven. They make for super easy one pot meals and they are just fun to use. Random, but I was just thinking about how much I love mine. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

