Skip to content

Mike’s favorite meal.

December 31, 2012

Well I think the entire state of Minnesota took a collective sigh of relief tonight. Congrats Vikings, I sure hope you can win again next week. 

I decided to make Mike’s favorite meal tonight, lasagna, just in case there wasn’t a win to celebrate. Not saying I didn’t have hope or anything. This is probably one of the only meals that I don’t follow a recipe exactly, I’ve begun to experiment a little more with my lasagna. 

We had a ridiculous amount of cherry tomatoes in our garden this year so we made about 10 batches of marinara sauce at the end of the summer. I used the last bag tonight. So, I cooked the sauce down for about an hour, because it’s a little watery, but you could use any jar of marinara. I cooked 1lb of beef and added it to the sauce and let that cook. I then mixed together 15oz of cottage cheese, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, 3 tablespoons chopped parsley, 1 egg, pesto (because I discovered today that we still have about 10 jars left in the freezer), garlic power and s&p. Then I layered like this: sauce, noodles, cheese mixed, grated mozzarella and then started all over. My favorite lasagna noodle is the no boil version from Trader Joe’s. Bake for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. Then eat. It’s pretty good stuff. 

Image

 

I also wanted to share a couple recipes that I made for my family while they were here for the holidays. Both the chili and chicken enchiladas were tasty. These are for you Raina, enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Raina permalink

    Zach and I were just saying that we need your enchilada recipe – thanks! They were so yummy and I hope to try them soon.

    Thanks for such a fun week. Caleb was asleep by 6:30 tonight, so I am sure a 4 am wake up call is in my future. Ugh. Damn time zones.

    XOXO!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

