Skip to content

All day affair.

December 16, 2012

I’ve been in the kitchen since about 4 p.m. today. It’s been a wonderful way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon. PS, I’m so sad that this rain is melting all of our snow away. My sister and her family are coming for xmas and I wanted my nephew to enjoy our winter wonderland. AND I really don’t want another brown Christmas. 

Anyways, on the menu today was two different varieties of Christmas cookies and a steak dinner. I tried a new cookie recipe thanks to Hyedi, my co worker, and another by request from Mike. Hyedi, the cookies turned out great, I’ll bring some for you to sample. Here’s the recipe:

Virginia’s Cookies
 
1 c. butter
1 c. oil
1 c. sugar
1 egg
1 c. brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla, baking soda, cream of tartar
1/2 tsp. salt
3 1/2 c. flour
1 c. rice krispies
1 c. oatmeal
1 c. coconut
3/4 c. nuts chopped
1 c. optional choc chips. 
 
Mix in order given, roll into balls. Dip the bottom of a glass into sugar and use that to flatten cookies.Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.
 
I also made oreo balls dipped in chocolate and white chocolate. Mike had his first experience with these at work and these came highly recommended. They don’t really need a recipe, but I used this one from How Sweet It Is. 
 
Image
 
 
I had originally planned to make steak sandwiches for dinner tonight, from you guessed it Smitten Kitchen. When I told Mike that, he said “Can’t a guy just get a steak sometimes.” So, I made mine into a sandwich and Mike got a steak. I’m pretty sure that I’m not a huge steak fan and it may have something to do with me not knowing exactly how to cook them. Or what cut to buy. The sandwich was pretty good, but I think I liked the potatoes that I made with them better. ImageImage
From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. What kind of potatoes? glad the cookies turned out well!

Leave a Reply

Home to Homestead

Composting. Cultivating. Cooking.

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

My hungry hungry husband

One woman's quest for man pleasing food.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

